Review
A Living Space: A mythology of self governing
By: Tang Siu Wa / Translation: Matthew Kwan

“A Living Space” was a named after a small private residential situated in Kowloon Tong, artist Ki Wong and her team used it as the name for their art project. This is a project about Pak Sha O, a remote rural Hakka village in Sai Kung. The project was finally completed after two years of research; the works were gathered to become an exquisite publication.

Artist Ki Wong was born in the 70s, with much early achievements such as starting up the bold and new magazine “CREAM”, co-founded the independent publisher “29s”, published her own photo book “collector”, and later founding photozine “KLACK”. I have always took notice of her, because she could always abstract the stylistic and sensitivity of contemporary art through her keen acuity, as if the present was connected through daily experiences and feelings, contemporary without feeling too tacky.

Mythologies in Daily Lives

How did art groups in the 70s went about doing things? I could almost smell them: keen on association, grounded, a certain desire to be with the masses, yet quiet, detailed, while associating delicately and emotionally; which takes a huge amount of efforts. Down to earth, yet valuing mythology and fiction, subtly subjective with a certain kind of humbleness towards reality.

The mythology about “Holy Water” was amplified in the book. Behind Pak Sha O was a stream, and it was said that on the seventh day of the seventh month, seven fairies would descend to bathe in the stream, therefore cleansing the water. The water on that day is said to have medicinal properties, therefore every year villagers will collect the water from its source and use it when they are ill. Everything goes still when you collect the water and all the animals will disappear. The chapter was accompanied by photographs of fishes from the stream, the clean background created a certain kind of mythical clarity, with a hint of Japanese minimalism. Ki Wong even sent the water from the stream to Masaru Emoto, the author of “Water, it tells us precious things” for analyse.

Thorough and Open

A Living Space can be seen as an archive of local community history. Whereas “community” themed projects are popular nowadays, a lot of the time it is about bringing in more visitors and encouraging consumption, which I believe was not the intention of A Living Space. The project hoped to explore the community through an artistic approach, while conveying the history, geography, ecology, and individual’s life history in immaculate details. Most importantly, the book communicated through an angle, a method that touches; soft, magnified, tranquil, and emotional, a wish to keep the village as it is. Like many other beautiful Hakka villages and old communities in Hong Kong, Pak Sha O is under pressure of development. The project did not encourage people to visit or to exploit the situation; it simply wanted to state the facts of this village as it is in as much details as possible, and hoping to you can feel the importance within. The way the book was designed using different papers for each set of photographs was not merely an aesthetic concern, but conveys an intimacy and urgency to the matter.

Two years was spent completing this delicate project and requires a huge amount of trust from the villagers. There are usually interests involved with landowners in an old community facing development, but the team approached the situation without any conflict of interests, which is easier compare to other community authorities. Ki Wong stated that her main goal was not to keep or conserve the buildings, but to open up space using an artistic approach, and encourage the reunion of indigenous villagers. By allowing them to discover the importance of their village, perhaps they will feel the need to keep and preserve their own village as it is. The book launch at Pak Sha O lasted two days with many activities (including sketching, book reading and concert, guided tours, nature tours and bird sound games etc.), also opened up a chance for villagers from overseas to return for a family reunion.

While working with such a diverse art team with literature, history and ecological knowledge, Ki Wong felt the importance is to not set any boundaries, let the artists feel through their hearts, flowing naturally. While reading the book, I felt that it wanted to connect everyone through imagination. In “KLACK”, Ki Wong kept trying to temper with the artistic values of non-artistic images, including meteorology images, images of wedding banquet halls, family photographs etc. She had found a humorous way to transform these into imaginative and emotional images without people knowing and through their own gaze. Ki Wong is herself very sensitive, she feel that the nature of art is to communicate, the process to discover, understand, intensify and transform.

The Biggest Dream Of This Era

“A Living Space “ not only carries a paradoxical merge between facts and fiction, but also paradoxically deep and external. Images and pages of the book show depth through provoking the viewer’s internal emotions while exhibiting and wrapped in the beautiful exterior; but to be able to do that requires cooperation and intertwining of designs and contents. Ki Wong had to be careful when she tried to find the path that connects everything together. When I pointed out to her that “A Living Space” felt ‘unreal’, she confessed that human need fantasies. And indeed, emotions and dreams are what make us human.

The most significant fantasy behind the project is that “we can handle a space and take rule of our life”. “A Living Space” retained the hand written manuscript ‘Emporers Through History’ by Mr Chan Sam-chyun, the all rounded teacher who taught in the village school many years ago and inserted the manuscript in form of a small booklet within the pages. Perhaps there are always such versatile people in the epoch of beginnings, to be small but complete and be able to pass on the virtues down many generations. To be able to take rule of our lives is sometime easier then lifting a finger, or it can sometime be an unreachable dream. Living in Hong Kong doesn’t make things easier. Under the corruption of core values and political oppression, to be able to take rule and self govern in Hong Kong seems like utopia. Or this is indeed our biggest fantasy and dream of our age.

It’s most intriguing that such dreams must be fulfilled through exploring history, that our dreams were once real. And, because they were once real that we find these utopian dream unreachable. This is the sentiment of this era, reminiscing the book “The Second Year of Jianfeng: An Alternative History of New China” by Chan Koonchung. A liveable place which connects us with our ancestors, connected through dreams and history, to break the seal via this remote village and explore profoundly the outward appearances of what we rely our life upon.

Organised by
策劃

Through Our Eyes Programme
is founded and funded by
創辦及贊助「憧憬世界」
Programme Camera Sponsors
計劃相機贊助

書評
可以居:一個自理的神話
文:鄧小樺

「可以居」是九龍區一幢私人小型住宅的名字,而攝影家黃淑琪及其團隊,則用來做一個藝術計劃的名字。這是一個關於西貢白沙澳,一條偏遠的客家村的藝術計劃,經歷兩年,做成了一本極其精美的結集《可以居》(下稱《可》)。

黃淑琪是生於七十年代的一位藝術家,早年曾有輝煌戰績,包括做起風格殊異新穎的《CREAM》雜誌,與友人一同創辦獨立出版組織「廿九几」,出版個人攝影集《蒐》,及後創辦每期探討不同主題的攝影藝術雜誌《KLACK》等。我一直有留意她,因為她能敏銳地提煉出當代的藝術感性與影像風格,彷彿當下即是般與生活的經歷與感觸相通,有時尚感而又從不庸俗。

實存的神話

某個七十年代藝術群體的做事方式是怎樣呢?我幾乎能嗅得出他們:喜歡連結,不高蹈,有一點通往巿場的追求,然而非常安靜,尤其重視細節,連結是以非常細膩而情感的方式進行,需要花大量心力資源——他們通往生活之餘亦重視魔幻與虛構,主體視角以一種微妙的方式存在,裡面有一種謙卑的再造現實之態度。

在書中,我們可以看到小村中「七月七水」的傳說被放大,流傳神秘。白沙澳後面密林有小河,傳說七夕當日,七仙女會下凡到這河沐浴,因此河水極清,能治百病,故每年七月七日午時,村中人會到河的源頭取水,然後密封於甕,待病時飲服。取水時萬籟俱靜,動物都消失不見。書中章節配合村河的游魚攝影,退色白底有神仙清氣,但又有日式味道。黃淑琪還把河水結晶的照片寄給身心靈書籍《水知道答案》的作者江本勝,讓他分析驗證。

書中的訪談大多由曾任電視台編劇的詩人劉芷韻寫成。劉芷韻筆調素以溫柔綿軟見稱,她給村民做的訪談中,有以虛構復現當時的寫法,把村民先輩的故事比為《傾城之戀》,也加入自身故事包括與家人關係的細思。我覺得更重要的是她在作村中翁家老婆婆訪談時,以自身女子的角度,不時輕聲質問客家女子的命運何以如此坎坷。

深入與開放

《可》可以被視為一本本土社區歷史紀錄,很配合當下時興的社區主題。不過「社區」在流行的呈現方式往往表現為帶動人流、支持消費,而我認為《可》的立意並非如此。《可》是希望以藝術方式去探索一個社區,在傳達詳盡而細緻的歷史、地理、生態學、居民個人家庭歷史等資料整理之餘,它更重要是傳達一種視角,一種觸摸的方式:溫柔,放大,平靜,充滿情感,而不希望改變社區的原有狀態。這條有著美麗客家建築的村子,也像香港的郊野公園及其它舊社區一樣,面對發展與販賣的威脅。它並沒有呼籲大家常去探訪村民或幫忙消費,它只是想講述這個地方的一切,盡可能詳細,希望你知道,並從中感受到一些可能重要之極的東西。而書的編排,包括不同開倒與不同紙質,配合不同主題的攝影藝術照片,都在呈現之餘,傳達著一種親密而重要的氣息。

如此細緻的藝術計劃,過程歷時兩年,需要與居民形成深厚的信任。舊社區的開發,往往與利益相關,藝術團隊可以免除利益瓜葛,相對就比一般社區組織容易,黃淑琪稱,她的目標並不是要保留實在的建築,而是希望以藝術打開一個空間,讓原居民可以團聚,重新發現這地方的重要,或者這種團聚可以變成保留的心意也說不定。跟隨出版的發佈會,在白沙澳連接二日的活動(包括寫生、朗讀音樂會、導賞、生態課、鳥語遊戲等等),也促成了原居民回港團聚。

而面對這樣多元的藝術團隊,包括攝影、文字、歷史、生態知識,黃淑琪認為最重要是不立框架,讓藝術家以心感受,自然流露。我閱讀《可》的感覺是,這本書是以想像空間來連結所有人的。在幾期的《KLACK》中,黃淑琪已經不斷磨煉一種將非藝術品re-touch成藝術品的方法,包括天氣氣像圖、酒樓婚宴場地、家庭攝影照等等,她已經找到一種非常幽微的方法,讓它們不知不覺,在照片的定格中,人們的凝視中,變成具有想像與情感的東西。而黃淑琪十分感性,她認為藝術的本質就是傳達人與人之間的普遍之物,過程是發現、了解、深化、轉化。

這時代最大的夢想

《可》有一種真實結合虛幻的弔詭,也有一種深度與表面的弔詭。能夠讓人在閱讀中感受特異的情感,照片與書頁便出現深度;但是,融合如此多方的合作,則可能需要停留在某些安全而美好的表面。黃淑琪必須小心翼翼地尋找互通的路徑。而我指出《可》有一種「un-real」的感覺,她坦承,她覺得人類需要夢幻(fantasy)。確實,情感與夢,都是人心共通之處。

《可》背後最重要的夢幻,是「我們能夠處理一個空間,以及打理自己的生活」。書中記載全能客家話教師陳心傳,文武全材開私塾教授全村學生,《可》將他手書的「歷代帝王紀」等教材保留下來,並處理為精緻小冊夾在其中。也許每一個小地方,開天闢地時都有這樣的全才,讓麻雀雖小五臟俱全,真正做到「詩禮傳家」。能夠自理,有時舉手之勞,有時遙不可及。香港是一個這麼難住的地方。在政治壓抑、核心價值崩壞的香港,能夠自理、自治,看起來仿佛桃花源或烏托邦。這或者就是我們現在最大的夢幻,或夢想。

而奇妙的是,這種夢必須以歷史探索的方式存在,我們的夢原在歷史裡面——正因為它是真的,才感到夢的甜美與遙不可及。這是一種時代感性,其理與陳冠中《建豐二年:新中國烏有史》相通。一個可以居住的地方:我們與陌生的先輩相通,夢與歷史相通,在偏遠的土地上破除封閉,深究的背後是我們賴以依存的僅有表面。

Organised by
策劃

Through Our Eyes Programme
is founded and funded by
創辦及贊助「憧憬世界」
Programme Camera Sponsors
計劃相機贊助